Uso de Javascript
                                                                                          

 

FANTASTIC

Our stop in Montevideo from our cruise ship was made so wonderful thanks to Fanny Margolis. She was waiting for us at the peer and we felt an immediate connection with her. We spent 4 hrs with her touring the city. She most definitely knows her city and is extremely knowledgeable of the Jewish History of Montevideo. She answered each and every question asked by the group. I would highly recommend taking her tour, you will not regret it. It will be money well spent. After the tour she pointed us to the harbor side where we ate a nice meal in the market place.

Cgalow
New York City

Visited February 2017


 

Excellent way to learn about Montevideo and the Uruguayan Jewish community

We, with five other friends, were on a cruise that stopped in Montevideo Uruguay and we had booked a private tour with Fanny Margolis rather than take one of the ship's tours. We added another couple from the ship, making nine people altogether. Fanny was very accommodating, even changing the time of the tour, from afternoon to morning, because our ship came in earlier than expected. She is extremely knowledgeable about the history of Uruguay and the Jewish community and her English is excellent (she is/was an English teacher). She is very proud of her country and of her Judaism and is able to discuss almost any topic that we thought to raise. She answered all our questions clearly and with honesty. We saw all the sights that would be of interest on a city tour of Montevideo, but she also was able to show us where the Jewish community first started and where the community now lives. We were lucky enough to be able to enter the Sephardic synagogue in the old town as well as go into Yavne, the communal compound that houses the smaller of the Jewish schools - from kindergarten to high school, a synagogue, a kosher bakery, gift shop and various other communal organisations. Her explanation and subsequent walk through of the Holocaust memorial was excellent. We had an wonderful four hours and even though we went slightly over the time, due to our slowness at times in returning to the comfortable van, there was no thought of asking for extra payment. We would not only recommend Fanny Margolis as a tour guide, we would say that if you are interested in Jewish Uruguay, taking a tour with Fanny is an absolute must.

Rose
Sydney, Australia

Visited January 2017


 

Fanny is the very best!

In short, Fanny made us fall in love with Montevideo. We strongly recommend using her as a tour guide. We consider ourselves so fortunate to have spent the morning with this smart, warm and knowledgable lady. An outstanding tour guide, Fanny weaves pieces of her own family's story with the history of Montevideo, Uruguay and the country's Jewish community. We will always remember sharing biscochos with the wonderful Fanny Margolis.

Rawendy
Mercer Island, Washington

Visited March 2016


 

Great city and Jewish tour of Montevideo

Two other couples and husband and myself went with Fanny Margolis (info@jewishtours.com.uy) as a private tour from a cruise. We had a very comfortable mini van and wonderful driver, Victoria. The tour was excellent, as was Fanny; Fanny is an outstanding guide, who wants to show you her city and the Jewish sites as well. She is very knowledgeable about the country and in Jewish matters as well. She was able to answer all questions about the country-political, economic, educational, etc. She also gives you her family history which is a part of the history of Montevideo as well as the jewish immigration into Uruguay. It was a wonderful tour and very reasonable. I would certainly recommend Fanny and this tour.

Helen
Chicago

Visited February 2016


 

Great tour

We joined others from our cruise for this tour and were pleased that we did. We enjoyed Fanny and found her to be knowledgable and having an excellent ability at conveying useful and interesting information. I highly recommend her for a tour of Jewish Montevideo.

Sheila
Los Angeles, California

Visited February 2016


 

Fanny was great!

Reviewed February 15, 2016

I booked a tour for a group from our cruise line. Fanny was easy to find and her tour was great. She covered the history of the city, the history of the Jewish community and took us to several important sites. We toured the old synagogue which is under renovation It is awesome and very large - a testament to the size and prosperity of the original community. We went to the Bouza winery for a great tasting . Their wines were very good and we bought to take on the ship. The owner of the winery has an amazing antique car collection which added to the visit, We ended the day with a tour of the newer neighborhood of Montevideo, the public Holocaust monument (amazing for the country of Uruguay) and a Jewish school and community center. The tour covered more than we hoped and Fanny was charming and enagaging, Well worth her fee.

Chadds Ford, PA

Visited February 2016


 

Punta del Este City & Jewish Tour

Fanny, I wish to thank you for arranging our private tour in Punta del Estes. Our local guide was very accommodating and informative. He also provided the opportunity to visit the beautiful Synagogue. Iwould be happy to to recommend your services.
Thanks Again, Jerry B.


 

Meeting you and having your Tour

Hi Fanny:  We were on your tour last Saturday, January 30th.  We arrived in Montevideo aboard the Star Princess and were privileged to have you show us around your beautiful city as well as the Jewish tour.  We learned so much from you and enjoyed the tour immensely.  You have a wealth of knowledge and present everything in a most informative and pleasant way.  Thank  you for providing us with a different insight as to the Jewish community in a lovely South American city.  You made that day of our trip very special and we thank  you. Perhaps some day in the future our paths will cross again.  Until then, many thanks. Shalom.

Carolyn and Chuck G.
Sharon, Massachusetts


 

Excellent half day tour

Reviewed December 21, 2015

An excellent half day tour of both the Jewish and other parts of the city of Montevideo. Saw great sites and very informative. Our guide Fanny was very relaxed and easy to talk to.

Sídney, Australia

Visited December 2015


 

February 2015

We just arrived back home in New Jersey yesterday morning & I want you to know that we enjoyed our tour with you & your son in Montevideo very much.  Thank you, also, for the wonderful CD presentation which I just finished watching.  It's a wonderful keepsake to have of you, your family & the history of Uruguay & its Jewish settlement. 

Sharon.


 

February 2015

I would like to tell you how nice it was to meet you and your son on our tour. You helped me to understand Uruguay and the Jewish history that is intertwined with your country. I know that I never would have learned about the Jewish heritage without your help. Also, I am so happy to learn of how much WE have in common with background and family. If you ever have a free moment I would love to hear from you. Be well, and again, thank-you for a wonderful tour.

Barbara.


 

January 2015

Dear Fanny,

We wanted to thank you for the wonderful and informative Jewish and city tour. The CD will be a very useful memory of the information you provided.  We really enjoyed meeting you!  Please be sure to let us know if you are coming to the Washington area.
Have a happy and healthy New Year.

Fondly,
Carl, Ellen, Joel and Carol.


 

Fanny Margolis, an extraordinary guide

Reviewed February 16, 2015

In addition to noting interesting sites in Montevideo, the obvious focus was on the Jewish community and its experiences, and relevant sites to such. Special among them was the extraordinary sculpture noting the trajectories around and following the Holocaust and a visit to a synagogue/Jewish day school. Warm and attentive, her tour became a narrative that allowed her to reveal her and her family's lives within the Jewish and larger Uruguayan communities, and it invited us to consider our Jewishness at similar times within our own national culture. At the end of the day, what stands out is Fanny Margolis's soul and its relationships, which includes you as her client.

Vancouver, WA

Visited February, 2015


 

Fanny's Tours are One of a Kind

Reviewed February 5, 2015

I was on Fanny's tour for passengers on Celebrity Infinity. As Harvey E. Said, it was an outstanding tour, told through the lens of Fanny's family's experiences in coming to and living in Uruguay. If you want to combine seeing the city with learning about Uruguay's Jewish heritage, this is the tour for you. You will visit the community center and a school. Fanny collects US10 per couple as a donation to the community center. 

Fanny is excellent at responding to emails, so feel free to write here about what you want to see.

Nueva York

Visited January, 2015


 

A Personal Tour of Jewish Montevideo

Reviewed February 1, 2015

Our shore excursion from the recent cruise aboard the Celebrity Infinity was a pleasant surprise. Billed as a Jewish Tour of the city, it was much more than that. It was a glimpse into our tourguide's personal life, as a Jewess living in this beautiful city. She described vividly and personally her life, the struggles of her community and took us to see the future of the community, the Yavneh school. Of course, we got much more than just the story of Jewish Montevideo. She shared much about the city in general, we passed all the major sites of the city along the way to and from the Jewish sites.

Toronto, Canadá

Visited January 2015


 

Tour of Jewish Area and General City Tour Santiago Chile

Reviewed January 25, 2015

We got a group together on trip advisor. We scheduled a tour of Santiago based on fellow travellers reviews. They could not have been more right.
Fanny Margolis has a wonderful personality. She waited at dockside in the pouring rain and got us safely on a luxurious bus to tour the city and Jewish history sites. She has great historical insights into both her country and its Jewish history. 
We spent an entire day with her and it flew by. Usually a whole day is too much for us but not with Fanny. True she charges a bit more which concerned us, but it was more than worth the difference.
She is truly an excellent guide and merits every star of our rating.
Would love to go with her again. What more can we say.

Boca Raton FL

Visited January 2015


 

Excellent Jewish Tour of Montevideo

Reviewed January 18, 2015

We were on a South American cruise and had arranged a private Jewish and CityTour of Montevideo with Fanny Margolis. She was excellent. Fanny is very knowledgeable and personable. She was prompt and met us at the ship as scheduled with a driver. Not only did she take us to many historical Jewish Sites, she explained from a historical perspective, the migration of Jews to Uruguay and the transition into this country. She interjected her own families experience and talked about Jews today. Many stops were made but one that was very memorable was the Holacaust Memorial along the sea. This was established at the encouragement of the government. Montevideo is a very diverse country, and Fanny helped us to understand the integration of Jews in this society. There was of plenty of time to see other sites in the city.
We loved this tour and guide and wanted to bring Fanny home with us.

Baltimore, Maryland

Visited December 2014


 

The Best Tour

Reviewed December 2, 2014

We spent 4 hours with Fanny Margolis in Montevideo. She is most knowledgeable and personable. We went to the Jewish sites as well as learning the history and culture of Montevideo. She entertained us with personal information about life in her beloved Montevideo.
This tour is certainly worth the amount paid.

boynton beach, fl

Visited November 2014


 

The Best Jewish Tour Ever!

Reviewed April 12, 2014

My wife and I contacted Fanny Margolis and booked for a Jewish tour of Montevideo. We were arriving by ship and did not want the cold impersonal bus tour that the cruise lines offer. She met us at the ship at the time we picked(not the ships rigid schedule) and with three other couples we toured the city. We visited the usual places and had a suburb tour of the parliament that included the entire building and visiting the chambers and sitting in the gallery. Of course the Jewish history was part of the tour as we passed former and present Jewish neighborhoods. She took us to the Jewish Community Center where she volunteers and then to the Holocaust Memorial.
Her knowledge and passion were wonderful. We were all engrossed and most of all we got to spend time with Fanny. She was not some cold tour guide, she was showing us her hometown, her people and their institutions. On this tour you also get a new friend in Uruguay. If you can get her, don't hesitate to engage her.

Miami, Florida

Visited March 2014


 

Montevideo Jewish Tours

We spent the day with Fanny Margolis in Montevideo. She is the most knowledgeable and personable person. We went to the Jewish sites as well as learning the history and culture of Montevideo. She was the best choice we could have made to learn about Montevideo and see the Jewish sites as well as the general sites in Montevideo.

psatlin


 

Outstanding

We went on the tour with Fanny and like the previous reviewer, I agree that this was superb. She has lived her whole life in Montevideo and extremely knowledgable about both the religious and the secular aspects of the city. The tour was somewhat pricey but "you get what you pay for". I would higly recommend it to anyone who wants personal service.

Philpoo


 

Awesome!

We had a wonderful time touring Montevideo's Jewish and city sites with Fanny Margolis in January 2013. She is full of information and a really nice person. The Holocaust Memorial on the beach must be seen - so touching. Fanny is so personable she brought us to her synagogue. We felt like family. There's nothing like an intimate group tour and Fanny excels at it. We stopped for lunch at an authentic restaurant where she made food suggestions. Bring camera, wear comfortable shoes, and come prepared for a great day. My only disappointment was that the gift shop at the Kehillah was closed due to summer vacation as I would have liked to bring back Judaica from Uruguay.

acecards


 

Very good tour

We was on a cruise to soth america we spend a full day with Fanny Margolis in Montevideo She is very good she is the most knowledgeable and personable person. We went everywere in the city and to the Jewish sites as well as learning the history and culture of Montevideo. She was the best of all the guides we have ilan domb star princess 2/25/2013

ilando


 

Fanny Margolis - Excellent Tour of Montevideo

We spent a wonderful day with Fanny Margolis in Montevideo. She is an outstanding guide and we were delighted with our tour of the city and key Jewish sites. Fanny is knowledgeable and personable and we enthusiastically recommend her. 

Steven W


 

The BEST Jewish and city Tour!!!

We had the pleasure of being toured by Fanny when we were on a cruise around the Horn of South America and had a day in Montevideo. Our tour was professional and very well planned. Fanny has first hand knowledge of the Jewish community in Montevideo and is able to share it in a most interesting way. Enough time is spent at the various sites so you can absorb and learn the history of the city. We had the opportunity to visit both the Jewish and City sites. The transportation provided was comfortable with lots of room to spare and the driver very personable as well. She has an excellent historical perspective of the city and the surrounding region.
We highly recommend her for a most memorable day.

Donira1


 

To sweet Fanny:  We wish you and your family a wonderful, joyous Passover.  We are still talking about the wonderful day we spent with you in Montevideo.  Hope our paths cross again in the near future.     Shalom,   Carolyn and Charles (Chuck) G.
 


 


Thanks, Fanny,

We are just finishing our Passover shopping.  Went to the Kosher Club in Los Angeles today. Hope you and your family have a wonderful Passover.  We have fond memories of the great day we spent with you in Montevideo, visiting all the interesting Jewish sites. You were a super guide and we learned and saw so much. 

Fondly,

Ben and Barbara A.

 


 

 

Dear Fanny,

We are still talking about the wonderful day we spent with you in Montevideo.

A Very Happy Passover to you and your family !

Fondly

Adrienne & Joel

 



We had a wonderful time touring Montevideo's Jewish and city sites with Fanny Margolis in January 2013. She is full of information and a really nice person. The Holocaust Memorial on the beach must be seen - so touching. Fanny is so personable she brought us to her synagogue. We felt like family. There's nothing like an intimate group tour and Fanny excels at it. We stopped for lunch at an authentic restaurant where she made food suggestions. Bring camera, wear comfortable shoes, and come prepared for a great day. My only disappointment was that the gift shop at the Kehillah was closed due to summer vacation as I would have liked to bring back Judaica from Uruguay.


 

We had a wonderful day in Montevideo yesterday. We thought that the tour you provided was outstanding and we really enjoyed seeing the city with you. Montevideo is a lovely city and your enthusiasm and pride in the city were apparent. Thank you again.

Ellen & Steven


 

We went on the tour with Fanny and like the previous reviewer, I agree that this was superb. She has lived her whole life in Montevideo and extremely knowledgable about both the religious and the secular aspects of the city. The tour was somewhat pricey but "you get what you pay for". I would higly recommend it to anyone who wants personal service

Philpoo
Tampa, Florida


 

We spent the day with Fanny Margolis in Montevideo. She is the most knowledgeable and personable person. We went to the Jewish sites as well as learning the history and culture of Montevideo. She was the best choice we could have made to learn about Montevideo and see the Jewish sites as well as the general sites inMontevideo.

Psatlin
Fort Lauderdale, Florida


 

Dear Fanny,

We wanted to thank you for a great time that we spent with you in your city on January 4.  It was such a delight to meet you and hear about you and your family's heritage.  Thank you for a special time.

Warmest regards,
Fred and Margo
.


 

Hi Fanny,

Heard you gave a fabulous tour for Dick & Sally... we are looking forward to your tour.
See you in Montevideo

Doris.


 

Dear Fanny,

Thanks so much. We had a great time. Hope to meet you again. Already referring your cd to friends. All the best for 2012. Remember we’d be pleased to have you here in MTL for our tour!!

Steve.


 

Dear Fanny,

Thank you so much for the wonderful tour and all that you did for us in Montevideo earlier this month. I have just looked at the wonderful DVD that you gave to us (unable to do so sooner as we left home again almost immediately after our return from Uruguay).
It was so nice how you included photos of your own family.and the other photos were wonderful reminders of our time there. Also, greatly appreciate the information and statistics that you included.  Although you related most of this information while we were on the tour 
I certainly did not have time to write it down. Thank you so much for introducing us by way of the tour to the Jewish community in Montevideo.
Anne

Anne.


 

Hello Fanny,

We are back in Melbourne and I wanted to personally thank you for the wonderful tour. We have thoroughly enjoyed your company and the passion you so willingly sharing with your clients
I will gladly recommend you to any of my friends who are planning to visit Montevideo
Attached a photo

Best regards
Larisa.


 

Dear Fanny,

Thank you Fanny for your kind words and photos. You were our favorite guide and we will recommend you to all our friends. Don't worry about the CD since everyone did receive a CD. We worked it out. 

Best Wishes
Martin.


 

Hello Fanny,

I want to first thank you for your marvelous tour of the city and Jewish community.
My wife and I enjoyed it.

Ron 
Toronto.


 

Hello Fanny,

We really enjoyed your presentation. The facts were important and your photos hit the highlights. We also enjoyed your personal family photos. I passed your presentation on to family and friends,who will contact you when they travel to your country.
Stay well and a zeesen pesach to all.

Martin.


 

Dear Fanny,

"We are home from the most fabulous trip to South America and you are a very special part of our trip. Thank you so very much for the most wonderful day and sharing all our sight-seeing with you and we appreciate everything. Hope all is well with you - I am sending you pictures from our wonderful day together."

Warm.


 

Hello Fanny,

"We have returned home to our busy lives after a wonderful holiday in South America. Thank you once again for the lovely day you gave us in Montevideo - your tour really enhanced our visit to your city. With very best wishes and kind regards."

Miriam and Kenny.


 

Dear Fanny,

"Thank you for the photos and the wonderful tour of Jewish Montevideo.  You live in a beautiful city surrounded by the sea and the city. We have returned from a relaxing cruise to a houseful of children and grandchildren.  It is always wonderful seeing them, but I get very tired keeping up with them."

Best wishes, 
Elaine. USA
.


 

Hi Fanny,

"We just returned from our South American sojourn and wanted to write and let you know how very much we enjoyed our tour with you of Jewish Montevideo.  It was definitely one of the hightlights of our trip.  You were so warm, friendly and informative and made us all feel comfortable and happy to spend the time with you.  The Holocaust Memorial in Montevideo is one of the best we have ever seen.  And, being able to sit in on a part of the service at the synagogue was very special to us.  Thank you again, so very much.  If you ever come to Florida, please take our name and number and look us up.  We would love to see you again."

With thanks,
Elaine and David. USA
.


 

Fanny,

"Phil and I want to thank you for the wonderful tour you provided for our group on Feb.16.  Your knowledge and expertise helped to make the day informative and memorable.  We are glad that we got to visit Montevideo." 

Thank you,
Evelyn. USA
.


 

Dear Fanny,

"Thank you for making our tour of Montevideo on March 1st most meaningful and enjoyable. We were impressed with your knowledge of the history of your country and found the touring experience very worthwhile."

Regards,
Noreen and Howard. USA
.


 

Dear Fannie,

"Thank you for thinking of us at Passover.  We had a wonderful time with you in Uraguay.  I hope that more Jewish visitors come to your country."

Best wishes,
Elaine and Allan. USA
.

 


 

Dear Fannie,

"Thank you for a fine tour and understanding Jewish life of Montevideo and Uruguay. We enjoyed meeting you and will be happy to recommend your tour."

Regards,
Mady & Allen. Canada.


 

Dear Fanny,

"My wife and I took your tour last feb. and had a wonderful time. My sister and brother in law will be on the star princess this feb. 09 and I have told them they must go with you when they are in montevideo. Culd you please send the the intinerary and cost. Thanks and hope all is wee. Have a happy new year."

Sincerely,
Rich and Andi. USA
.


 

Dear Fanny:


Thank you for your Pesach wishes.Hazel and I appreciate very much the effort you put forth to show us Montivideo and for arranging for us to visit a Shul and have Kiddush-a very heart warming and emotional experience for both of us.You are a lovely person and getting to know you was one of the highlights of our trip to South America.

Best wishes for a happy Pesach and for a year filled with good health and joy.

Peter & Hazel.


 

Wonderful Montevideo City and Jewish tour.

After hearing about yesterday's disaster and confirming that HAL ships in South American waters and ports were all safe, I am getting around to writing about a great private tour I took in Montevideo. I hired Fanny Margolis, info@jewishtours.com.uy www.jewishtours.com.uy from a recommendation on a CrusieCritic board. Her main job is as a teacher so she was very patient and informed as a tour guide.
I feel like I thoroughly saw the city as well as the Jewish life and monuments. I highly recommend Fanny for a Jewish and/or city tour in Montevideo. As a half-day city tour, this was a much better experience than the busload tours provided by the cruise line.

Kind regards, 
Pamela.

 

 

 

      Phone (598 2) 711 7352
      E-mail: info@jewishtours.com.uy
      Montevideo - Uruguay